With the summer more than halfway done, parents everywhere have one thing on their minds: back-to-school shopping.
The back-to-school shopping spree continues.
Three more states – Texas, Maryland and Massachusetts – will offer residents a tax break in time for the new school year.
Texas is up first and will hold a three-day holiday Friday through Sunday. This is the third tax holiday of the year for the Lone Star State, which had a hurricane supply holiday in April and an appliance holiday in May.
The round of sales tax holidays, also known as tax-free weekends, comes less than a week after 10 states offered similar savings. Arkansas, Florida, Iowa, Missouri, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Virginia and Wisconsin held their holidays earlier this month.
Massachusetts’ holiday is scheduled for Saturday and Sunday and is a tax break on the first $2,500 of most purchases. Gov. Charlie Baker signed the state’s economic development bill Friday, hours ahead of the holiday.
Maryland shoppers have a whole week to shop tax-free starting Sunday and running through Aug. 18. Connecticut starts its week-long holiday Aug. 19.
Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire and Oregon don’t need a sales tax holiday to help get ready for the new school year. These states don’t have a state sales tax rate.
Budgeting for back to school season could save you a lot of money in the short run and set an example for your children in the long run.
Sales tax holidays
Dates: Friday through Sunday, Aug. 10-12
State tax rate: 6.25 percent
What’s tax-free: Clothing, backpacks and school supplies, less than $100
Exclusions: Accessories, athletic equipment, protective equipment, computers, software and textbooks.
Full list: https://comptroller.texas.gov
Dates: Saturday and Sunday, Aug. 11-12
State tax rate: 6.25 percent
What’s tax-free: Almost everything.
Exclusions: Tobacco or marijuana products, gas, electricity, cars, boats, meals and items costing more than $2,500. In Massachusetts, there is no sales tax on clothes under $175.
More info: The state legislature approved the holiday on Aug. 1 and Gov. Charlie Baker signed the state economic development bill approving the holiday Friday.
Draft list: www.mass.gov
Dates: Sunday through Aug. 18
State tax rate: 6 percent
- Clothing and footwear, up to $100
- First $40 of a backpack or bookbag purchase
Exclusions: Accessories, sports equipment, protective equipment and sewing materials.
Full list: http://taxes.marylandtaxes.gov
Helping teachers can help ensure your kids get the best out of their school experience.
Dates: Aug. 19-25
State tax rate: 6.35 percent
What’s tax-free: Clothing and footwear, less than $100
Exclusions: Sports uniforms, safety apparel and clothing accessories.
Full list: www.ct.gov/drs
Kelly Tyko is a consumer columnist and retail reporter for Treasure Coast Newspapers and TCPalm.com, part of the USA TODAY NETWORK. Read her Bargainista tips at TCPalm.com/Bargainista, follow her on Twitter @KellyTyko and email her at firstname.lastname@example.org. Sign up for her weekly newsletter at www.tcpalm.com/featured-newsletter/bargainistabest.
Read or Share this story: https://usat.ly/2vVzCxn
The generous soul will be made rich, And he who waters will also be watered himself. – Proverbs 11:25
USA Today News Headlines
[su_feed url=”http://rssfeeds.usatoday.com/usatoday-NewsTopStories” limit=”20″]
USA News Headlines
[su_feed url=”http://rss.cnn.com/rss/cnn_us.rss” limit=”20″]
ABC NEWS Headlines
[su_feed url=”http://feeds.abcnews.com/abcnews/usheadlines” limit=”20″]